Silent Era Information*Progressive Silent Film List*Lost Films*People*Theaters
Taylorology*Articles*Home Video*Books*Store*Search
Silent Era Home Page  >  PSFL  >  The Letter (1929)
Progressive Silent Film List
A growing source of silent era film information.
This listing is from The Progressive Silent Film List by Carl Bennett.
Copyright © 1999-2017 by Carl Bennett and the Silent Era Company.
All Rights Reserved.

About This Listing
Report Omissions or Errors in This Listing


The Letter
(1929) American
B&W : Six reels / 5778 feet / 62 minutes
Directed by Jean de Limur

Cast: Jeanne Eagels [Leslie Crosbie], O.P. Heggie [Joyce], Reginald Owen [Robert Crosbie], Herbert Marshall [Geoffrey Hammond], Irene Brown [Mrs. Joyce], Lady Tsen Mei [Li-Ti], Tamaki Yoshiwara [On Chi Seng], Irene Brown, Kenneth Thompson

Paramount Famous Lasky Corporation production; distributed by Paramount Pictures Corporation. / Produced by Monta Bell. Screenplay by Garrett Fort, with dialogue by Jean de Limur and Monta Bell, from an adaptation by Garrett Fort of the play The Letter by William Somerset Maugham. Cinematography by George Folsey. Intertitles by Mort Blumenstock. Edited by Jean de Limur and Monta Bell. / © 13 April 1929 by Paramount Famous Lasky Corporation [LP307]. Premiered 7 March 1929 in New York, New York. Released 13 April 1929. / Standard 35mm spherical 1.33:1 format. / Paramount’s first full-sound feature shot at the Astoria Studios on Long Island, New York. / Full-sound film.


Survival status: Print exists in the Museum of Modern Art film archive.

Current rights holder: (unknown)

Keywords: Synchronized sound film

Listing updated: 4 October 2014.

References: Steinbrunner-Encyclopedia p. 284; Vermilye-Twenties pp. 230-232 : ClasIm-241 p. C11 : Website-AFI.

Home video: DVD.

Silent Era Home Page  >  PSFL  >  The Letter (1929)
Jazz Singer on DVD



Sherlock Holmes (1916) BD/DVD Combo

Early Women Filmmakers BD/DVD Combo

Behind the Door BD/DVD Combo